My first case officer is awarded an MBE for her work for victims of stalking/harassment

December 31, 2013

http://www.portsmouth.co.uk/news/local/dedicated-portsmouth-detective-is-made-an-mbe-1-5778292

I am so proud that DCI Linda Dawson has today been awarded the MBE for her work with victims of stalking/harassment and policing.  In a few days, it will be 21 years since she knocked on my door, as a Detective Constable, in response to the call for help with a problem I had with a colleague.

It was she, and her dedicated Sergeant, Ian Smith, who asked me if I would go public with my case in February 1995, as they didn’t know what else to do in order to protect me, it was the only way to highlight the loophole in the law.

It has been a long journey, laws changed, improvements made to policing, but hers or Ian’s dedication to improving life for victims never wavered, and she is still actively working to improve things today.

I am so pleased that someone so dedicated, that someone who actually deserves it, has received this honour.

Well done Linda!

One Response to “My first case officer is awarded an MBE for her work for victims of stalking/harassment”

  1. Linda Dawson Says:

    Tracey, thank you so much for your kind words. I feel very honoured and proud of this MBE appointment. However it would not have been possible without your courage to come forward and ensure that the survivors voice is heard. You have continued to be inspirational and I would be proud if you could join me at the investiture.

Leave a Reply

